Finding new foods.

Alright, I have finally sorted through all of the photos I took at Megarun. All 1,127 of them. Ridiculous, I know. I will post those whenever WordPress decides to let my photos load!! If not I shall find a way for you to see those pictures because I must say some of them are magazine cover worthy. ;) just saying!
The trip was a blast, and even though it was not a huge turnout like usual, it was just as fun as any year before!

Last night I threw a bunch of stuff together hoping that it would taste good, and well… It did :)
I love it when that happens. I went wayyyy back to culinary school whenever they ask you to make that warm bacon vinaigrette and toss it with some spinach.. Well instead of spinach I found this really awesome “power greens” package at Kroger. Which contained mizuno, baby kale, baby spinach and baby Swiss chard. Aka super foods in a bag. I’m really digging this whole super foods kick people are on lately and even more so now that companies are producing such things to accommodate us “health nuts.” Better than filling our bodies with terrible sugar filled, fried and not to mention sodium packed foods that fast food places offer. Just because it’s convenient doesn’t mean you need to go buy it and eat it people!!! Anyways, I will save you my rant because believe me, you’ve heard it plenty of times, I’m sure of it. So, back to this dinner last night. It was wonderful and had so many different flavors going on. I loved it and so did my dad, which is really hard to get him to try new things and be pleased with them. SUCCESS!
With the greens portion you can totally add in morel mushrooms or take it to a sweeter side by adding in dried cranberries or something. But I think I would like to add in the mushrooms since the salsa I made was citrusy and sweet to the bitter greens. Like I always say, make it your own and play around with flavors you like! Or hey! Try something new!

Serves 6

Balsamic chicken
3 chicken breasts, halved
1/4 c olive oil
1/3 c balsamic vinegar
5 garlic cloves, minced
Salt and pepper

— mix the marinade together in a gallon bag and add the chicken. Let that get all happy together while you prep the rest of the meal :)

You will be grilling the chicken so plan accordingly!

citrus salsa
1 medium sized jicama, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 jalapeño, minced
1/2 medium-large purple onion, diced
1/4 large pineapple, diced
1/4 bunch of cilantro, finely chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 lemon juiced

instructions
Chop all of your ingredients and try to keep them roughly the same size except your garlic and jalapeño. Toss all together and taste.

Warm Super Salad Greens

1 radicchio, quartered and grilled
1 package of the super greens
Salt and pepper to taste
1 T apple cider vinegar
1 T bacon grease

instructions

Heat the bacon grease in the skillet, add in the greens and wilt SLIGHTLY.*** You don’t want to kill the beautiful greens.
Once they are slightly wilted drizzle the apple cider vinegar over them and add in the sliced, grilled radicchio. Toss all together season to your liking and serve.

***Note: I recommend as soon as you get the pan piping hot, add the greens and then take the pan off of the heat/burner and toss… that way you don’t wilt them down to nothing and they stay nice and pretty :)

Make the dish your own! Add mushrooms or cranberries or anything you’d like! And let me know what you did! :)
Enjoy!
April

20140319-171738.jpg

Leave a Reply

