Paleo-tastic!

Hey guys,

So all day today when I was trying to get together my list to go grocery shopping I kept asking myself what in the world do I want to cook for dinner? Something simple? Gourmet? WHAT?!

So I got on Pinterest… my weakness.. Probably any female with an internet connection has this Pinterest-coma weakness. Am I right? Anyways, I typed “Paleo Dinner Ideas” into the search bar and low and behold a bunch of recipes pop up. Jackpot!! Scrolling, scrolling, scrolling didn’t see anything I really wanted to put forth the effort to make tonight nor for the rest of the week for that matter. Then I came across this awesome recipe for Thai Basil Beef (in meatball form). It looked amazing. I clicked on the link, which led me to a Paleo blog and they have some awesome recipes on there. I have to start looking for more of these types of blogs, especially since I am new to this whole Paleo thing…

Problem solved I had decided what I was going to make for dinner tonight as well as the rest of the week. I just kept adding more things to my list until I had five dinner ideas.  And tonight we had Thai Basil Beef meatballs with my homemade tomato sauce and yellow squash spaghetti. It was delicious.

As you know I am new to this whole blog thing so if I do something wrong with linking or tagging another blog in my posts please inform me! It will be greatly appreciated. And that way I don’t upset anyone in the process. Thank you in advance. :)

Thai Basil Beef Meatballs

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 lbs ground beef (preferably 80/20)

1/2 c almond flour

2 eggs

1 roasted red pepper, about 1/3 c, chopped

1/4 c wheat-free soy sauce or coconut aminos

1 t fish sauce

1 t sriracha, chile sauce or hot sauce

1 handful fresh basil leaves, chopped

1 lime, zested

salt

Preheat oven to 400ºF.

In a large bowl, whisk together all ingredients (except the beef). Now add the beef and mix well, making sure everything is thoroughly combined.

Portion out the mixture, using a cookie scoop, onto a parchment or silicone/silpat lined baking sheet.

Pop in the oven until cooked through, and the tops have slightly browned (you may need to switch to broil), about 20-30 minutes.

source: http://www.health-bent.com/

And then I just served it with boiled yellow squash noodles and my homemade tomato sauce!

Also for another sauce, and sadly, it is not paleo approved… But I wanted to experiment with another sauce because I was not entirely sure if tomato sauce would pair well with these meatballs since they were going to be a whole new flavor other than normal hamburger meat with italian spices etc.  So I was looking in my refrigerator and I saw mushrooms, fish sauce and lime juice. Standing there for a minute trying to put a few things together in my head I came up with a fascinating sauce! It was a lot of different flavors that paired nicely with the meatballs. I knew there was lime zest in the meatballs so why not have lime juice in the sauce? Hello, not wasting any food items here so using zest AND juice from the lime. Mission accomplished. uh buhzinga!! :) Fish sauce? already in the meatball? Say what?! Yet another reused ingredient. Yes!

Though it may not be completely Paleo, its still 90% Paleo.. eh? eh? Still count? No! I know it has alcohol in it, but it was rather tasty!

Mushroom Sauce (that needs a clever name)

1 t coconut oil

6 Baby bella mushrooms, sliced

1/2 c Red Wine

2 T Balsamic Vinegar

1/2 t Raw Honey

1 t Fish sauce

Juice of 1 lime

salt and pepper to taste

Heat coconut oil in saute pan and add mushrooms, cook until water from the mushrooms start to come about.

Add the rest of your ingredients and reduce in the pan. Season accordingly and enjoy over those meatballs!

Their blog has pretty pictures along with the meatballs. I apologize for not posting any pictures.

Thank you again for tuning in! I will try and post every other day and bring you more recipes. Enjoy!

-April

Leave a Reply

