Happy Friday!

Today has probably been the most exciting Friday at work, well pretty much ever.  Every week we have the opportunity to create new specials. I usually work salad station so I had to come up with a salad special. So I started thinking about what in the world I could make. And I was like oh yes! I know what I can make! I’ll do what I made for dinner last night!! Which was this weird concoction that actually turned out to be amazing. I really need to post pictures! Anyways, it was sautéed kale, citrus ginger chicken and a jicama salsa type thing I thought of. It. Was. Amazing. Such a light dish with so many wonderful flavors going on. Craziness.

So making this for the tasting at work I was nervous as I’ll get out. Walking out there with the plate I kept telling myself, don’t trip. Dang it April wipe this concerned look off of your face! (I never knew I could get so nervous bringing some plate of food to some managers and a chef.. But I was sweating like crazy. Ridiculous, I know. It’s kind of like you do something for a living and give your all everyday and still some how you manage to get stressed or nervous.
Now when I’m on that line and there’s a line out the door that is my adrenaline rush for the day. That is what I live for! It’s my escape and I’m free those few hours of rush. And it’s awesome. I love that feeling; your heart is pumping you’re sweating (not into the food… Silly) and you have practically four pages of orders and it’s just like get it done! Pump these orders out one by one super super fast!! And then you see the looks on the customers face and they are so excited to eat this delicious food and that is what makes that crazy rush so much better. Seeing the satisfaction and smile on their faces when they get their food. Eat it. Devour it.

So back to the recipes. And guess what? It’s all Paleo :) Nom nom nom!

Citrus Ginger Chicken

serves: 5

3 Chicken Breasts (cut in half horizontally)

2 Inch piece of ginger minced

3 Garlic cloves minced

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

Zest and Juice of 1 orange

Zest and Juice of 1 Lemon

Zest of 1 Lime

S&P to taste

** I set aside just a little bit of the zest I was going to use for the Chicken marinade and used the zest in the salsa for more color.

Mix all of the ingredients and put into a Ziploc bag. Add chicken and move it all around to get the chicken covered and marinade for at least 20 minutes. (Feel free to marinade longer!! But since there is citrus in there I would be careful not to go over 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours)

Jicama Salsa

1 Small Jicama diced

1 Jalapeno diced

1/4 Red onion diced

5 Medium/Large Strawberries diced

1-2 Tablespoons Cilantro minced, chopped, obliterated basically. :)

Salt to taste

Juice of 1 Lime

Add about 1 combined Tablespoon of all three zests. **see ginger chicken recipe

Mix all of the ingredients together. Try to keep all of the knife cuts the same size so it makes for a more uniform looking salsa.

Sauteed Kale

2 bunches of Lacinto Kale, washed and chopped

S&P to taste

1 1/2 Teaspoons Coconut oil

3 Cloves Garlic minced

1/4 Cup Water

Heat a large pot over medium high heat, add coconut oil and garlic.

Stir until fragrant. Add kale.

Toss around until coated in oil and semi-wilted looking.

Add water and continue stirring Kale. Cook for about 5 minutes or longer if you want softer Kale.

These are the pictures from dinner last night. Sorry, I will post pictures of the beautiful presentation when I make it at work for the special ALL WEEK!!! So Excited!!!

jicama salsa

Jicama Salsa ^ look at all that goodness and color!

citrus ginger chicken

Citrus Ginger Chicken ^ with some roasted veggies as well, just because I can!

I hope you enjoy these wonderful recipes! Let me know what you think and/or if you tweaked any of the recipes! Thanks!

Have a great Friday :)

-April

Leave a Reply

